Looks like you’re on the UK site. Choose another location to see content specific to your location

Home Industry News Merck KGaA announces analytical chemistry award winners

Merck KGaA announces analytical chemistry award winners

29th March 2007

Merck KGaA has announced the recipients of the 2007 Heinrich Emanuel Merck Award for analytical chemistry.

The award has been given to Professor Shuming Nie, the distinguished chair professor of biomedical engineering at Emory University and Georgia Institute of technology and Dr Alexander A Makarov of Thermo Electron.

Professor Nie has been recognised for his work developing multi-functional nano-particles for cancer targeting and imaging, while Dr Marakov has received the award for his work designing and constructing a hybrid mass spectrometer based on an orbitrap electrostatic mass analyser for the analysis of proteins to small molecules.

The prize aims to reward younger chemists working on methods of analysis with applications that can benefit mankind. Both winners will receive 10,000 euros.

“The prizes, which are funded by Merck KGaA, will be awarded for the tenth time during the Euroanalysis XIV in Antwerp, Belgium, September 9th-14th 2007,” the company reports.

It adds that two prizes will be awarded this year to reflect that both candidates had conducted outstanding work.

Last month, Merck KGaA announced that it had signed a partnership agreement with nanotechnology co-development firm Nano Terra with the aim of bringing innovative products based on nanotechnology to the pharmaceutical market.

We currently have 6 jobs available in Pharmacy industry, find your perfect one now.

Stay informed

Receive the latest industry news, Tips
and straight to your inbox.